How to come up with ideas

A former bank client called me a few weeks back asking if I’d come in a do a workshop with her designers and usability teams on how to come up with ideas.
Unfortunately, I’d jumped ship from being Digital Creative Director at M&C Saatchi Melbourne to being a Senior Creative at Clemenger BBDO, which meant I was working on conflicting clients… But the offer spurred me on to start thinking about thinking and more accurately, whether or not you can teach people to be creative… I think you can, I have been collecting techniques, articles, methods and my own theories on how this might be possible… I’m a professional creative person and a former teacher so I figure I may as well attempt to mash these two pursuits together and see what they add up to… Also, I found by teaching the technique of coming up with ideas, be it to Award School Students (www.awardschool.com), or to programmers, devs, product people, uni students, I learn more about it myself…

So welcome to The Thought Police, serving and protecting and training the synapses inside your mind that occasionally snap two or more things together and generate a new relationship…or what we call … an idea.

This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this e-mail in error please notify the sender immediately by return e-mail and destroy this message. Any views expressed in this message are those of the individual sender, except where the sender specifies and with authority, states them to be the views of the Company.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

